Sint Maarten: Acting government sworn in today


It is in the morning of Tuesday, November 19, that the acting government led by Silveria Jacobs takes an oath, at a ceremony which takes place in Harbor View, in the premises of the governor of Sint Maarten, Eugene Holiday, who presides this swearing.

The president of the National Alliance party, Silveria Jacobs, will chair the government of Sint Maarten until the next election. She also occupies the portfolio of Minister of General Affairs. Ardwell Irion is in charge of the Ministry of Finance, and Jurendy Doran is appointed to the post of Minister of Justice. The direction of the Ministry of TEATT (Tourism, Economic Affairs, Transport and Telecommunications) is entrusted to René Violenes, while Christopher Weever retains his post as Minister of VROMI (Public housing, town planning, environment and infrastructure).

It is thus five ministers, for the moment, who will take the oath. The Minister of Health, Labor and Social Affairs, the Minister of Plenipotentiaries, the Minister of Education, Culture, Youth and Sports will be sworn in at a later date.

The interim government received the support of a majority composed of members of Parliament from the National Alliance and United Sint Maarten Party (USP) parties, as well as independent members Luc Mercelina, Chanel Brownbill and Rolando Brison. _RM

 7,857 total views

About author

No comments

%d bloggers like this page: